tortellini

I started out making this Gorgonzola Tortellini but Alice isn’t a big fan of blue cheese, pork, or it’s heavy richness, so it’s followed by a lighter version that’s vegetarian. Each is really quick and easy to make, and relatively inexpensive to boot! Someday maybe I’ll try it with better-than-frozen tortellini. : )

—–

Gorgonzola Tortellini

INGREDIENTS:

1 lb frozen tortellini (pork)
1 cup diced tomatoes (1 can)
1/2 cup crumbled Gorgonzola (2 oz)
1/4 cup cream sherry (Harvey’s Bristol)
1/4 cup olive oil (extra virgin)
3 teasp walnuts (finely chopped)
1/4 teasp cayenne pepper (coarse)
3 green onions

METHOD:

Combine everything but blue cheese and tortellini and let sit for 1 hour. Cook tortellini until tender. Add blue cheese to sauce and then toss tortellini with sauce. Serve warm, not hot.

(A heavier, richer, non-vegetarian version of the Walnut/Oloroso Tortellini.)

(Next time I make it I’ll try adding 1/8 cup basil.)

—–

RECIPE: Walnut/Oloroso Tortellini

INGREDIENTS:

1 lb frozen tortellini
1 cup diced tomatoes (1 can)
1/4 cup olive oil (extra virgin)
1/8 cup oloroso sherry
3 teasp walnuts (finely chopped)
1/4 teasp black pepper (coarse)
3 green onions (chopped)

METHOD:

Combine everything but tortellini and let sit for 1 hour. Cook tortellini until tender and toss with sauce. Serve warm, not hot.

(A lighter, Gorgonzola-free, and vegetarian version of the Gorgonzola Tortellini.)

(Next time I make it I’ll try adding 1/8 cup basil.)

4 thoughts on “tortellini

  1. I’ll admit it’s been a few years since I’ve been in Aldi, but I’d expect them to have everything but the Gorgonzola and the Sherry, right? The sherry would certainly be an expensive purchase if just for this dish, but it’s ~$10 for 750ml (and is available in smaller sizes) and will keep until you drink it or use it in subsequent dishes. Gorgonzola is also relatively expensive, but since I posted this in response to your affirmation of the yumminess of gorgonzola, I hadn’t really considered it.

    I’ve been meaning to buy some Harvey’s for a sauce I’m working on. You’re welcome to use some when I get it.

    Like

  2. You should post the recipe for your yummy spicy lasagna . . . by the time I get around to trying to emulate it, I will have forgotten everything but the jerk seasoning that goes in ;-)

    Like

Leave a Reply

