Spicy Lasagna

This is an experimental lasagna that I made for this semester’s first Student Feast. I put a little thought into what I wanted in it and Alice went looking for groceries. Alas, several ingredients were not to be found, necessitating further improvisation with ingredients at hand. I’d never made lasagna before and Alice really did most of the work of putting it together. This isn’t really a recipe yet; we just threw it together (based on her more traditional lasagnas) without really thinking about future duplication or tweaking. Believe it or not, I tried really hard to keep it simple and not throw too much into it.

It had four layers consisting of noodles, sauce, and cheese. The noodles were not precooked, and alternated between whole wheat and semolina. The sauce was 3/4 of a bottle of Cabernet Marinara (Muir Glen) long-simmered with finely chopped pepperoni, garlic powder, half-sliced garlic cloves, and a generous portion (1/4 cup?) of Jamaican Jerk seasoning (Frontier Organics). The sauce really thickened and I had to add water so that it wasn’t pasty. The top layer used an Alfredo sauce. In the middle was a layer of chicken-jalapeno sausages sliced and quartered. The cheese layers were cottage cheese (because I dislike ricotta), mozzarella, and fresh basil.

I wanted to use pulled pork or shredded chicken, but couldn’t find any in time. I also wanted to use Tabasco pepperoni, but it was also hiding. I’d probably try making each cheese layer different: mozzarella, Swiss, smoked Gouda, and a homemade Alfredo sauce heavy in Parmesan and maybe fontinella. I’m open to suggestions!

I had hoped to make spicy brownies as an accompaniment, but it didn’t work out. Maybe next time.

2 thoughts on “Spicy Lasagna

Leave a Reply

