quotes

Brought to my attention by markfrench at 5pointers, here’s are two quotes from two emails John Piper Sent to Mark Driscoll. I already highlighted them there, but I like them so much I’ll give them a bit more prominence here.

“We both want to speak in a way that is NOT boring about the greatest things in the world and is not worn out and tired and hackneyed. It is a sin to bore people with God. So pray for us. The line is fine between choosing words to strike the soul with glory and strike a clever pose.”

“Good grief. I am glad I don’t read the web very much. I would sin with anger too much. “Roaring debate” !– these people have too much time on their hands.”

One thought on “quotes

  1. yes, I do have too much time on my hands this week… sitting around waiting for someone to cough up a lung of vomit out an intestine… yuck…

    so I’ve been commenting alot more than I normally do…

    Also, I so agree with the first quote! It IS a sin to bore people with God! He is no amazingly un-boring…

    and clever poses are easier to strike than a soul with glory…

    Like

Leave a Reply

