Blue Lime

As a variation on my key lime pie (following the lime/mango and the lime/cranberry) I made two lime/blueberry pies for small group Sunday. One was a granola crust with pureed berries and the other shortbread with whole blueberries. The granola crust smelled nice out of the oven, but I think my preference was for what I didn’t serve, shortbread crust with pureed berries. The blueberry flavor was a little stronger in the puree and I’m not a big fan of whole fruit. But the flavor was too subtle for my liking, I think that lime/cranberry has been the only variation worth repeating. I still want to try an orange/citrus version but I’m out of ideas after that, so I may have to find some other line of experimentation to which I can subject others. The whole recipe is posted elsewhere, but here are the measurements:

one 8″ pie crust

1 can sweetened condensed milk (14 oz)
1/2 cup key lime juice
1/2 cup pureed blueberries
1 tbsp cornstarch

Leave a Reply

