lemon pie, pt 2

This time I wanted to make sure the lemon was a prominent as the lime in the key lime recipe, and at this I succeeded! Too much for most people, myself included. I used a combination of recipes, mostly the lime tart filling and the lemon curd filling. I had to make a few last-minute changes, but I’ll list the recipe I started with. (I mistakenly thought I needed 3 cups of filling, so the measures below reflect a 50% increase.)

—–
1 prebaked granola crust (9″)

1 1/4 cup lemon juice (from 10 lemons?)
9 whole eggs
3/4 cup honey (substituted for 1/3 cup sugar)
9 tbsp butter
1 tbsp lemon zest
1 dash salt

Combine the juice, zest, sugar, and butter in a saucepan over medium heat until steaming. Whisk the yolks in a bowl until liquid. Slowly beat the steaming liquid into the yolks and return the mixture to low heat. Continue whisking until it thickens, about 8 minutes. Pour into crust and refrigerate. Top with whipped cream and sprinkle with lemon zest before serving.
—–

I ran out of honey, so I added 2 tbsp of blood orange syrup. I ran out of lemon juice, so I added 1/4 cup of key lime juice. I couldn’t taste the orange syrup, but the lime juice made itself known.

It was initially too soft, but it firmed up some by the next day, so it seems like making it at least 24 hours in advance might be a good idea. I had a cup of extra curd, so I put it in a nice quilted mason jar and gifted it to someone who seemed especially fond of the pie. The pie was too tart (and the filling too voluminous), so if I revisit this I’ll try these measures:

.75 cup fresh lemon juice (5 lemons)
.75 cup honey
6 tablespoons butter
6 large eggs

However, I was wishing that it was a bit more creamy. What does the butter do for it? What would happen if I swapped it out for 4 tbsp of cream cheese? My informal experiment this evening shows that a mixture of lime juice and cream cheese thickens nicely (unlike yogurt), so I suspect this would make it a bit firmer as well.

5 thoughts on “lemon pie, pt 2

  1. I gathered that it was a good source, but I still want to know why the butter is there in most recipes! My two main cookbooks, “How To Cook Everything” and “Cookwise”, are pretty good about explaining how thing work what what certain ingredients actually do for a recipe, but I often want more specific details. Maybe I just need to cook more.

    Like

  2. Pingback: lemon pie, pt 4 « :|

  3. I found notes from later experiments!

    Because the original was too much, too tart, too soft, and not creamy, it became:

    .75 cup fresh lemon juice (4 lemons)
    .75 cup honey
    4 oz cream cheese
    6 large eggs
    1 tbsp lemon zest

    This was still a bit too much (for an 8 inch crust) and the texture still wasn’t creamy enough. Furthermore, the flavor was not intense enough, but more lemon would be too much. (Might be difference between lime and lemon…) Maybe more of a cream cheese base? Or maybe try omitting the egg whites and creme cheese?

    I ended up with the following, but I don’t have any notes about how it turned out.

    .75 cup fresh lemon juice (4 lemons)
    .75 cup honey
    6 large egg yolks
    1 tbsp lemon zest

    Like

Leave a Reply

