Puerto Rican Custard

I started making this a few years ago, and it’s been a hit from the start. Uncharacteristically, I’ve felt little compulsion to tweak it from my first go. I based it on a Condensed Milk Custard from “Puerto Rican Cookery” by Carmen Aboy Valldejuli. I made this as a pie, using a store-bought 8″ shortbread crust, rather than as a traditional flan, and couldn’t resist making a few other changes along the way. :)

It’s worth mentioning that although this contains a fair bit of coconut milk, the coconut flavor is relatively subtle. This is good, since I don’t like coconut. The coconut milk is there because the original recipe called for water, and I couldn’t bear to add water to custard.

Ingredients

8 egg yolks
1 can sweetened condensed milk (full fat)
3/4 cup coconut milk
1 tsp blackstrap molasses (I’d probably prefer more, but any more and the less molasses-philic members of my family might start to complain.)

Preheat to 350

Mix the ingredients, adding one at a time. Pour them into the crust and bake it for one hour.

Boil an additional can of sweetened condensed milk to make a tasty caramel and drizzle it over the top, serve a dollop with each slice, or something similar.

I also want to try it with Myers rum (omitting the molasses) and an Oreo crust. Or maybe I can mix caramel, rum, and cocoa powder…

Leave a Reply

