key lime experiments, pt 5

In pt. 4 I tried using green stevia powder. I don’t remember the texture, but it tasted horrible. I decided to try again with stevia drops. I knew that I didn’t especially like the flavor of stevia, but I was hoping that the drops would have a negligible effect on the texture and that the lime juice would overpower stevia’ aftertaste.

#18

1 oz cream cheese
1 tbsp key lime juice
8 drops stevia extract

Notes: texture is okay, but it’s not sweet enough.

#19

1 oz cream cheese
1 tbsp key lime juice
12 drops stevia extract

Notes: texture is okay, if a bit wet, but it’s not sweet enough and I can taste the stevia.

#20

1 oz cream cheese
1 tbsp key lime juice
16 drops stevia extract

Notes: texture is still okay, if a bit too wet, and it might be sweet enough, but the stevia leaves a nasty taste in my mouth.

Conclusions: I’ve run out of ideas for this, so I’m not expecting any more Key Lime experiments. However, there is one thing I’ve tried (but not documented), that is worth developing into a whole pie. I’d like to get it into edible form in time for the holidays, but we’ll see.

Leave a Reply

