Key Lime Pie

I was recently asked for my Key Lime pie recipe, and realized I don’t have a current version online. This is really only an update of the recipe I posted earlier. I thought about updating the old post, but some comments wouldn’t make sense, so I decided to just make a new post. That will also make it easier to find.

Ingredients

crust

1 pie crust (prebaked, 8′, shortbread)

filling

1 can sweetened condensed milk (14 oz)
¾ cup key lime juice
4 oz cream cheese, softened
1 tbsp ginger juice

whipped cream

½ cup heavy cream
1½ tbsp granulated sugar
1 tsp lime zest (persian limes tend to have nicer color, are cheaper, are easier to find, and work just fine)

Method

Preheat oven to :  350°

Soften cream cheese at 350° for 10 minutes and whip. Add sweetened condensed milk, ginger juice, and lime juice, mixing thoroughly after each addition. Pour into crust and bake for 20 minutes. (Technically, baking shouldn’t be needed, as the juice and the milk react and thicken. I’ve never actually tried it without baking. :)

Vigorously mix cream and sugar until you have soft peaks, spread on top of pie, and then decorate with lime zest (or lime slices). The lime zest is easier to sprinkle evenly if I zest it while the pie is baking, throw it into the freezer, and pull it out immediatly before serving.

I find the pie is best the second day, so I’ll usually make it the night before and then top with whipped cream right before the pie is served. The flavor will be intense, and the whipped cream will help balance it. If you find the flavor is still too intense, you can reduce the lime to 1/2 cup and eliminate the ginger, but I wouldn’t recommend it. :)

2 thoughts on “Key Lime Pie

  1. Pingback: pies « :|

Leave a Reply

