Gloves

I’m picky about most things, and gloves are no different. I like my gloves to be understated, not bulky (unlike most gloves), and to actually fit my hands in terms of finger length and size.

My “main” gloves are lightweight and genrally used when the weather is freezing or below. I stay pretty warm all by myself, so I don’t usually need much insulation as long as my outer layer keeps the wind from stripping away my internal heat. My go-to gloves were first simple-glove-liners and then something along the lines of batting gloves. Glove liners really aren’t that durable, and aren’t very wind-resistent. The problem I have with batting gloves (and most other athletic gloves) is that they tend to have a prominent logo and look flashy. Lat year I found great gloves in an unlikely genre. Bike gloves typically have substantial padding on the palms, but these do not. They apparently come in a variety of colors, but I have black. If history continues to repeat, by the time this pair wears out, it will no longer be manufactured and I’ll need to find something else or get lucky on eBay.

I also have a pair of lightly-insulated leather gloves that I wear when the lightweight gloves aren’t enough. It’s it’s really cold, I’ll layer the two.

For biking I really like the Specialized Blob gloves from the mid-nineties. I have a well-worn and very comfy pair I’ve had for 15 years, and another, later model I found on eBay a few years ago. They’re not quite the same, and not as nice, and aren’t breaking in as comfortably, but they are still nicer than other gloves I’ve seen from recent years. If the weather is a bit nippy, I layer my main gloves under them.

Leave a Reply

