Moderation

Although I have usually a variety of liquor on hand, I don’t tend to drink it very often or in much quantity. I have two Irish whiskeys that I purchased in Ireland 10 years ago. I’ve have a Bourbon not quite as long, but it’s been quite a few years. A small 1.5 oz bottle of rum I bought a couple of years ago for a Puerto Rican custard (which I’ve still not tried with rum!). My Rye was a gift from a friend the Christmas of 2011.

My favorite of the bunch is the rye, despite the overly-long name: Corsair Experimental Collection 100% Kentucky Rye Whiskey. I like rye, and this is the best I’ve had.

Redbreast 12 Irish Whiskey is okay, but not remarkably interesting. The Connemara peated Irish Whiskey (cask strength) is really interesting.

Myers is the best rum I’ve had. The flavor it thick and dark, but is a bit overly simple and could use some refinement. I’ve tried many “better” rums, but they’ve all been pretty flavorless in comparison to Myers. That said, the local selection has exploded over the last 10 years or so, so I’d be a lot more likely to find something tasty if I started started sampling again.

One thought on “Moderation

  1. Pingback: Hot Toddies « :|

Leave a Reply

