Better Espresso

A while back I got a new coffee grinder as a belated Christmas gift. I already have a countertop grinder, but it won’t grind fine enough for me modest espresso machine. This means that my espresso has been pretty thin unless I get my coffee pre-ground. This means that my coffee isn’t ground fresh, which means that my espresso has been stale. This isn’t ideal.

The new grinder, which will grind fine enough for Turkish coffee, more than fine enough to choke my espresso machine. This means that I can grind my beans right before I pull a shot. This also means that I can order freshly roasted beans. What a difference it makes!

Since my last coffee post I’ve also modded my portafilter to allow me to use a larger, unpressurized basket. The combination of the grinder and basket is great, and I can now regularly pull 1-1.5oz shots (from 1/4 cup of beans) that are better than what I’ve been served anywhere else. As a comparison, I use to order 3 shots of espresso with 1 shot of water for my americano. Now I use one shot of espresso with three shots of water, and it still has more body than what I used to order.

Leave a Reply

