Too cold

It’s been over 15 years since I was a winter bicycle commuter, and I’ve been eager to see what my lower threshold would be. Today exceeded it. This morning the temp was 11° and the windchill was -4°. My rule of thumb is now either < 15°, or (more likely) < 0° windchill. My fingers get too cold, and I can’t tolerate any more loss of dexterity to insulate more. My toes, legs, and other parts got a bit chilly too, not to mention freezing my windward ear while I was standing at the bank drive through.

My bike computer didn’t like it either, though I’m puzzled why my chain and derailleurs were sticking. Maybe those are unrelated?

Anyhow, it never gets too cold to walk, so now I know when to hoof it.

3 thoughts on “Too cold

  1. This morning the temp was 29w18 (regular/windchill), and I was dressed similarly to the day in the post. The exception was only a single pair of pants and only pants protecting my legs. I wasn’t too cold!

    This evening it was 25w14, and my legs got chilled. Now I know when to wear long johns.

    Like

  2. I’m going to try to enter my rules before I forget them. I’ve probably already forgotten some of the temps, but I’ve filled them all in as best I could. The listed temp is raw, not adjusted for windchill. I still need to figure out if windchill is more important when I’m cycling (and generating my own “windchill”).

    Bicycling:
    1. 50° is too cold for short sleeves. (wear a long-sleeve shirt (or jacket) over a short sleeves)
    2. 40° is too cold for short gloves. (wear glove liners + bike gloves)
    3. 30° is too cold for glove liners alone. (wear winter gloves)
    4. 30° is too cold for sandals. (wear shoes and socks)
    5. 30° is too cold for a long sleeve shirt. (wear a jacket)
    6. 20° is too cold for one layer over my legs. (wear long johns)
    7. 15° is too cold to bicycle. (walk)

    Walking
    1. 30° is too cold for one layer over my legs. (wear long johns)

    Like

Leave a Reply

