Smoke and Pepper?

Back in March, I was in Chicago and had my first meal at a Red Robin. I had a Smoke and Pepper burger and a chocolate and Myer’s Rum shake. Both were delicious, but I still managed to be a little disappointed by the burger. While it tasted great, I could taste neither smoke nor pepper. Apparently the flavor is supposed to be from the alder-smoked salt used on the burger and the black pepper used on the Bacon, as well as smoke- and pepper-flavored ketchup. The fries come with the special ketchup and I was never able to pick out the namesake flavors. Weird.

Nevertheless, it was rather tasty, and I’d be interested in the recipe. I’ve not yet seen one online, so I guess nobody’s recreated it.

Leave a Reply

