Hojicha Kombucha

As mentioned in my last post, I recently bottled kombucha made from hojicha tea. It started out really promising, as it had a really nice flavor that was rich and mild, but with enough strength to keep it interesting. However, I discovered that most of that disappeared upon bottling and refrigeration. It’s a bummer, but even still it was good enough to drink a quart without any added flavor. Perhaps this is something to consider as a continuous brew, where I use a spigot to draw off however much I need at the moment.

After seeing how the flavor decreased after bottling, I decided to be a little more adventurous with flavoring the two remaining quarts.

  • The first got a 2 TB dose of dried lavender flowers. Aside from the “soapy” odor being a little disorienting, this worked surprisingly well. I’ve not had much of it, but I expect to try it again.
  • The second got a 2 TB does of ground dried juniper berries. I like gin, and the Juniper home-brews I’ve tried, so I was expecting great things. Unfortunately, the affect of the juniper in conjunction with acetic acid is that I continually felt like I was drinking dill pickle juice. I don’t like dill pickles, so this isn’t something I’m likely to repeat.

I’ve managed to get pretty far being in starting new batches, and this was my last gallon. I’ve now gotten four new gallons started. Three are the regular formula, and one is made from dark-roasted Columbian coffee. I’m not sure that I’m looking forward to the flavor of this one, but figured it is worth a try.

2 thoughts on “Hojicha Kombucha

  1. Pingback: Rooibos Kombucha | :|

  2. Pingback: Hojicha Kombucha, again | :|

Leave a Reply

