Cocoa Kombucha?

As I understand it, the tea in kombucha could be replaced with most anything that is high in nitrogen. One substance that satisfies the nitrogen requirement is chocolate, or more precisely, cocoa powder. Could it work? I’ve never seen of anyone even mention the possibility of brewing with cocoa*; I have no idea.

Here’s what I did:

  • 1 cup of water (unfortunately, I wasn’t thinking ahead, so this is tap water)
  • 2 tbsp of cocoa powder
  • 1/4 cup white sugar
  • 1/4 cup kombucha
  • 3 cups distilled water

I put the the cocoa powder in a cotton tea bag and added it to 1 cup of boiling water. After it cooled, I combined it with everything else in a quart jar, and topped int with a coffee filter sealed with a rubber band. I put it next to my gallon jars of kombucha. In a week or two, we’ll see what I have.

As an additional experiment, I also made a batch without a nitrogen source. It’s just sugar water plus a culture. I don’t expect much from it; without a nitrogen source, the yeast and bacteria might not have enough nutrients for long-term survival.

(*If you search online, you can find chocolate/cocoa added to normal tea kombucha after bottling.)

3 thoughts on “Cocoa Kombucha?

  1. Pingback: Basic Kombucha Science | :|

  2. Pingback: Small-Scale Kombucha Experiments | :|

  3. Pingback: Water Kombucha | :|

Leave a Reply

