Hojicha Kombucha, again

I’ve taken notes on quite a few different batches of kombucha that aren’t yet documented in a blog post. This is one of those…

I’ve made Hojicha kombucha before.

This batch was relatively acidic (pH 3.2), but a balanced sweetness and sourness, with some of the green tea astringency and “green” bitterness, but also some “brown” toastyness. It’s mild, but pretty drinkable plain. I flavored two quarts with loose bulk from Frontier Coop, one Indian Spice (chai) and one Cider Mate.

The Indian Spice was okay, but not as good as I’d hoped. The fennel was a little odd, but ended up being kinda nice. As with the other, Cider Mate was okay, but not as good as I’d hoped. It was a little bitter.

I’ll definitely make another batch of hojicha kombucha. Next time I’ll try altering the steep (more tea, lower temperature, less time) and see if that increases toasty flavors while reducing astringency and bitterness.

Leave a Reply

