Kombuchas With Darjeeling and Assam

I’ve taken notes on quite a few different batches of kombucha not yet documented in a blog post. This is one of those…

I made two batches in parallel, one with Assam and one with Darjeeling. Other than the different teas, everything was identical, and followed my usual kombucha procedures.

After 4 weeks, each batch was pH 3.2, and was similar, but different. Assam was mildly astringent, but moderately sour. In contrast, darjeeling was moderately astringent, but mildly sour. Neither was especially vinegary, and neither was all that similar to my Ceylon kombucha.

  • Assam
    • plain: After a week in the fridge, this was a bit harsh. I wonder if my taste is slowly changing towards a milder acid perception, or if there’s something else going on. It seemed like I should have liked it more than I did. The initial flavor was nice, but then it became unpleasantly challenging. This is unlike the darjeeling, where I looked forward to the next drink as I tried to figure out what was going on in the flavors.
    • rosehips: nice! I should try this more.
    • Cranberry Vanilla: harsh.
  • Darjeeling
    • plain: after a week in the fridge, this was mild with a distinct grassy/herbal flavor. It reminds me of an earlier kombucha, maybe an earlier experiment, though I can’t figure out which.
    • Chai Love: harsh, tart, and no chai spice flavor came through. I added a bag of orange spice, and it’s better. Now it reminds me of pink grapefruit juice.
    • Decaf Mountain Chai (double strength): nice, but still not as flavorful as Bengal Spice, despite using two tea bags.
Leave a Reply

