Kombucha with 1/2 sugar, 1/2 glucose, with hops

I normally make kombucha with regular white sugar (sucrose), and I’ve made a few batches using glucose as the carbon source for the microbes. This time, I used half-sucrose, and half-glucose. Once it was done, I flavored it with hops.

  • 14 days: pH 3.2. Mild flavors all around, despite the acidity, though it did have a light fizziness. I decided that I didn’t really want the acidity to go below 3.2, so I bottled it.

This was the first use of my new autosiphon, and it worked beautifully. I decided that the mild flavors would make for a good test of different hops varieties, so I bottled 1 pint plain, one with 1 oz Motueka, one with 1 oz Vanguard, and one with 1 oz Simcoe. Daughter #2 likes the plain, but I find that to be drinkable but uninteresting.

  • After 7 days steeping, there was a marked difference between the three varieties of hops.
    • Motueka: light bitterness and relatively fruity.
      • I added 1/8 tsp gypsum to 1/2 qt.
      • I should have split this so that I could taste some with and without gypsum side by side. As it was, I think the hop flavor may have been a bit more focused and clear, but I’m not sure.
      • This was most like when I’ve used Mosaic hops, but with a more subtle flavor. In the end, I can’t think of any reason I’d choose this variety.
    • Vanguard: sharp, woody bitterness that lingers for 15-30 minutes. This flavor was relatively unpleasant, and doesn’t blend well with other flavors.
      • I added 1/8 tsp gypsum to 1/2 qt.
      • I should have split this so that I could taste some with and without gypsum side by side. As it was, I think the hop flavor may have been a bit more focused and clear, but I’m not sure.
      • I won’t be trying this again.
    • Simcoe: strong bitterness that seems most stereotypically beer-like of any of the hops I’ve tried. The bitterness lingered, but no so long as to be annoying.
    • I eventually combined the bottles with Motueka and Simcoe, and that flavor combination worked pretty well. I used that to create a few 50/50 blends.
    • Two of these had added gypsum, which might help the hops taste cleaner, crisper, and sharper.

I’m finding that this sugar formula makes a nice clean base for hops. It’s not the most interesting, but it allows the differences between different hops varietals to show, and it blends will with other, more interesting kombuchas.

Leave a Reply

