Kombucha Fermented on Zante Currants

I’ve previously made kombucha fermented on raisins. This is a minor derivation on that – kombucha fermented on zante currants. (It’s probably worth noting that zante currants actually tiny dried grapes, and are not true currants.) To make this, I added 1/2 cup of zante currants to a 1 qt micro-batch of my usual kombucha.

  • 7 days: pH 3.6. It was a little sweet, a little tart and tasted a lot like raisins (more than when I added raisins). It had a decent looking scoby, maybe 2mm, and bubbles were released when I moved the scoby to take a sample.
  • 14 days: pH 3.2. 10mm scoby. This had a good fizz, but was a bit too sour. It still had a strong raisin flavor, and while astringent, it was less astringent than kombucha made with raisins.

I’m not a huge fan of raisins, but I imagine this would be very popular for people that are. I wanted to try it because grape skins contains a lot of tannins, and grape products seem to promote a fast fermentation. This produced a reasonably tart and drinkable product after 7 days, which is very quick for me.

Leave a Reply

